Below is an email that we received.
Note how it appears to come from Citibank and appears to go to a secure link at Citibank..
![]()
THE FOLLOWING IS A FRAUD EMAIL
Subject: Verify your E-mail with Citibank
This email was sent by the Citibank server to verify your E-mail
address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link
below and entering in the small window your Citibank ATM/Debit
Card number and PIN that you use on ATM.
This is done for your protection - because some of our members
no longer have access to their email addresses and we must
verify it.
To verify your E-mail address and access your bank account,
click on the link below:
https://web.da-us.citibank.com/signin/citifi/scripts/email_verify.jsp
---------------------------------------
Thank you for using Citibank
![]()
The link however goes to a non-secure site at:
http://www.securecitibank.us
We tried to click on the link but as at March 29, 2004, the page and web site appears to be disabled. This could be an indication of complaints resulting in the site being shut down.
We checked who owned this site and here is the information from WhoIs:
We're not sure what relationship, if any, Mr. Wayne Stanford has with CitiBank. But one can certainly conclude that CitiBank themselves do not own this site.
![]()
This one ends up at http://218.62.39.59, which is a site in the Orient!
This email is especially crafty. We have disabled the link.
|
Recently there have been a large number of identity theft attempts
targeting Citibank customers. In order to safeguard your account, we
require that you update your Citibank ATM/Debit card PIN.
This update is requested of you as a precautionary measure against fraud. Please note that we have no particular indications that your details have been compromised in any way. This process is
mandatory, and if not completed within the nearest time your account may
be subject to temporary suspension. |
ozmpjdyvexo utcbt vuqr znrwvsowwvi
Now this is the page it goes to when you click on it. As you can see, a GENUINE CitiBank page is being forced to pop-up behind the scam one. The scam one of course conceals the fact that it is really somewhere in the Orient!
To prevent being victim to this type of scam, always go to the home page of the company, in this case, www.citibank.com.